Sri Lanka opt to field against Afghanistan

Sri Lanka have won the toss and decided to bowl first against Afghanistan in the first match of the Super Four stage at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, UAE.

The match starts at 8pm. GTV, BTV, and Nagorik TV will broadcast the match live.

Afghanistan made one change – Samiullah Shinwari comes in for Azmatullah, who is out as he is sick. Sri Lanka are playing with the same team.

Both these sides are coming into this game on the back of victories – though Afghanistan are undefeated this tournament so far, and have already recorded a comprehensive win against Sri Lanka.

Afghanistan’s road to the Super 4s has been relatively smooth sailing; they dominated Sri Lanka in their first game and then weathered a Bangladesh fightback in stunning fashion. Both those games were essentially won on the back of their bowlers, with their seamers running through Sri Lanka’s batters and then the spinners doing the job against Bangladesh. But those matches also highlighted some of the explosive potentials of their batters such as Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Hazratullah Zazai and Najibullah Zadran. To say Afghanistan are favorites heading into this tie wouldn’t be the shocking statement it might have been a while ago – in fact, Sri Lanka’s own Farveez Maharoof agrees.

Afghanistan (Playing XI): Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmanullah Gurbaz(w), Ibrahim Zadran, Mohammad Nabi(c), Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Samiullah Shinwari, Rashid Khan, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Charith Asalanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka

Related Articles

Back to top button